Social video

Distributing videos natively to Facebook

If your organization has a Facebook Page, you can share your video content with your fans and have them watch the videos directly in their newsfeed or on your Page's wall. Doing this can bring your content to a wider audience and can assist in driving more traffic back to your video website. To do this, you can always just copy and paste the URL of one of your videos and post it on your wall, or you can set up your Facebook Page as a distribution point to create an easier and optionally automated workflow.

Use the TwentyThree distribution feature to set up your account to sync with a Facebook page, and allow native uploads to Facebook happen automatically, without you having to upload your video content, and specifying metadata twice. This article describes how to authenticate Facebook as a distribution point for your videos, and later how to have your videos along with their titles, descriptions and tags appear on your Facebook page.

Authenticating a Facebook page

To enable distribution of videos to Facebook click on the "Distribute" tab in the backend of your video website, and choose the Facebook icon in the right sidebar. This is where you can authorize your TwentyThree account to post videos directly to your Facebook page by clicking the "Connect Facebook account" button. Make sure you are logged in to your Facebook account when doing so.

Facebook will now ask for the permission to access your videos, and you can with a single click give the permission needed for TwentyThree to upload directly to Facebook by clicking "Okay".

Next, you can configure options for the newly created distribution point. Choose which Facebook page your video should be uploaded to. Note that the default option is "My feed", and you most likely would change this to a company Facebook page you manage.

Determine if videos should be posted automatically or not, and click "Save Connection" to finish the authentication process. The choices made here can always be edited at a later point in time.

Uploading a single video to Facebook

After authenticating your Facebook account with TwentyThree you are ready to publish videos in both destinations. To upload a video to Facebook simply go to the backend of your TwentyThree account, and choose the video in question. Click the button which displays a Facebook icon + "Publish".

You are now presented with the option of editing video title, and description before upload. Note that edits you make here will only affect the Facebook video. If you have multiple Facebook pages connected to your TwentyThree account you can decide which Facebook page the video should be uploaded to. You will also find a preview of the post.

Next, you can decide to post the video immediately or schedule a later time of distribution. To match your company content calendars we have made it possible to schedule Facebook uploads. Use the calendar view to find a date for your schedule, and drag the handles to define time of day by the hour and minute. Note that the options you make here can still be edited after you have clicked "Schedule". When you schedule a video to Facebook it's scheduled natively. This means that the video will be uploaded to your Facebook page immediately, but saved as an unpublished post until the scheduled time you have defined in TwentyThree. This brings a number of benefits including the ability to tag other pages in your post, boost your post, etc. before the video is posted on your Facebook page - simply go to the Publishing Tools section on the Facebook page you manage, find your video post under "Scheduled Posts" and make the changes needed for your Facebook post.

Removing videos from Facebook

If you decide that you no longer want the uploaded video to be hosted on your Facebook account it can be removed easily. Simply go to the backend of TwentyThree, and choose the video in question. Press the Facebook Publish icon and then click the delete button next to the post you wish to delete. This will not only cancel the syncing of data between TwentyThree and Facebook, but will fully delete the video on Facebook. Note that this will not delete the same video hosted on TwentyThree or any other place the TwentyThree embedded player is shown on the web.

Can I have more than one Facebook account connected to TwentyThree?

Yes. Many of our users have multiple Facebook destinations for different sets of video material, that is why it makes sense to connect more than one Facebook account to TwentyThree. To add another account simply press "+ Add account". Just make sure you are logged in to the right Facebook account.

Can I remove a authentication between Facebook and TwentyThree?

Yes, it is easy to remove any connection between Facebook and TwentyThree. To stop syncing, simply go to "Distribute" in the backend of TwentyThree, locate the connection in question and click the cogwheel icon next to it, and click "remove this connection".

Can I write a new title and description specifically for the Facebook upload?

If you want to change the metadata you can either make the changes within TwentyThree before the upload, or change the specifics within the user interface of Facebook after the video has been uploaded.

Where do I find a direct link to the Facebook videos that have been posted through TwentyThree?

Simply go to the backend of TwentyThree, and find the video in question. Press the Facebook icon, and scroll down. You will see a link icon next to the information about distribution history. This icon will take you directly to the Facebook video post.

Can I track video analytics from Facebook?

Yes. Statistics from videos published in your social channels can be found under Distribution.

Can't find what your are looking for?